Are you the publisher? Claim or contact us about this channel


Embed this content in your HTML

Search

Report adult content:

click to rate:

Account: (login)

More Channels


Showcase


Channel Catalog


Channel Description:

BoardGameGeek features information related to the board gaming hobby

older | 1 | .... | 72 | 73 | (Page 74) | 75 | 76 | .... | 184 | newer

    0 0

    by RinaldoDeLucca

    Can I enter two or more buildings in a row in the same round? Lets say that I want to enter the Bakehouse and the Abattoir as part of the same single main action. Can I do that or I must wait until the next main action to enter another building?

    0 0

    by louper

    RinaldoDeLucca wrote:

    Can I enter two or more buildings in a row in the same round? Lets say that I want to enter the Bakehouse and the Abattoir as part of the same single main action. Can I do that or I must wait until the next main action to enter another building?

    Entering a single building is your action for the turn. If you want to enter another, you have to wait until your next turn.

    0 0

    by Just1pin

    The store house states "At the end of the game, value increases by 0.5 francs per standard or upgraded good."

    Is this just an odd wording to mean that all of a player's leftover goods at the end of the game are worth 0.5 francs? I just don't understand why it says the value increases if by default the value of left over goods is zero, and why it wouldn't just say "all leftover goods" Does this effect goods in any other way? If you own the storehouse and ship off goods are they worth 0.5 francs more? I would assume not since it says at the end of the game. The wording just doesn't make sense to me.

    We just played a game where the player who owned the storehouse had 64 leftover goods. So they just add 32 francs(victory points) to their score, correct?

    thanks for the help!

    0 0

    by PauloSantoro

    It seems to be correct the way you played.

    The card means that its value (the card's value) increases...

    0 0

    by jreast

    Not sure if the buildings FAQ makes it any clearer, but it sounds like you're correct [24] Storehouse

    The reason the value increases is that the storehouse on its own is worth 4. So the 0.5 Francs per good is on top of the 4, as oppose to it just giving value to goods.

    0 0

    by Just1pin

    The card's value increases by 0.5 francs makes sense. :)

    0 0

    by gillum

    At the end of a game of Le Havre, your score is determined by the sum of the printed values of your buildings and ships, the additional value of buildings with a plus symbol, and your cash - minus any loan penalty.

    Certain buildings (like Storehouse) reward other holdings at the end of the game. This is done by increasing the value of the building - rather than saying that these other holdings are themselves worth points.

    This is just the way the game works at the end - only building and ships add to your francs.

    For example, the Dock's value is increased by 4 francs per ship. You wouldn't want the rules to say "if you have the Dock, each ship is worth 4 francs" - because that would be wrong.

    It's just easier to say that these buildings' values are increased by your other holdings, because that keeps within the very simple francs+buildings+ships scoring.

    As to why Storehouse calls out standard and upgraded goods separately, it's just because the card (like Dock, etc.) gives the icon for what adds to the value of the building. Since there is no single icon for generic goods, the card illustrates the individual icons for standard and upgraded goods.

    0 0

    by sneakyninja7nz

    Has anyone ever played with this house rule(suggested by UWE) ???

    [BGCOLOR=#FF9900]"For an X player game, if you have X loans or more, you must pay 2 francs for interest."[/BGCOLOR]

    If so, do you ever play 3 interest or more?
    (If so, when?)

    Or is a maximum of 2 interest enough?

    0 0

    by kittenhoarder

    sneakyninja7nz wrote:

    Has anyone ever played with this house rule(suggested by UWE) ???

    [BGCOLOR=#FF9900]"For an X player game, if you have X loans or more, you must pay 2 francs for interest."[/BGCOLOR]

    If so, do you ever play 3 interest or more?
    (If so, when?)

    Or is a maximum of 2 interest enough?


    I am sure that people have. I think some of them even responded in this thread! The "official" rule is that it maxes out at 2 interest, but my idea was to have it go up by 1 interest for every X loans.

    0 0

    by dfstanle

    There is a minor discrepancy between my rule book and the game board when alloting resources at the beginning of a 2-player or solo shortened game. The board setup instructions say 1 hide and the rule book says 2 hide. I would tend to believe that the rule book is correct, because the board says 1 hides (note the plural). As mentioned, this is minor, but can anyone (maybe the designer) verify which is correct?

    0 0

    by Halfinger

    My game board shows no setup details for the shortened game. The illustration of the board in the rule book does not show it either. Maybe it's an old print?

    0 0

    by Karlsen

    I wonder if it has changed? This board (probably 1st edition based on the date of the image) has 2 hides. (click to enlarge, the full size is too large to dump on unsuspecting visitors to this thread)


    0 0

    by Halfinger

    Where do you get the 'two hides' from on the board?

    EDIT: Oh, in the special buildings section. Mine says '1 hides' as well. This seems to be an error and I think I have the latest print.

    0 0

    by Ponton

    2 hides are correct.

    0 0

    by stlm

    Does the newest Z-Man print have this error?

    0 0

    by Halfinger

    stlm wrote:

    Does the newest Z-Man print have this error?


    I suspect it does. My copy says copyright 2013 Z Man Games and has the expansion which I bought in the UK a few months ago. Having said that it is a tiny error and easily corrected on the board. I won't even bother, as the Op says the plural of 'Hides' gives it away. In fact I did not even notice the set up for the short game was listed there in the first place.

    0 0

    by stlm

    Well that makes me curious if it's there on all past printings, or if it was somehow recently introduced.

    0 0
  • 04/03/14--09:21: New Image for Le Havre
  • by Guibs

    Getting ready to play a 2 player game of Le Havre with my 7 years old son. He loves the game.

    0 0

    by russellkey

    I've just read the rules for Le Havre and am mystified by one thing which I can't find in the rules. What does the number and letter mean that appears on the bottom right hand corner of the tokens? For example, on the iron token there is a number two and what looks like an E.

    0 0

    by louper

    It's an F, for franc. It tells you the amount of money the good is worth when shipping via the Shipping Line building.

older | 1 | .... | 72 | 73 | (Page 74) | 75 | 76 | .... | 184 | newer