Are you the publisher? Claim or contact us about this channel


Embed this content in your HTML

Search

Report adult content:

click to rate:

Account: (login)

More Channels


Channel Catalog


Channel Description:

BoardGameGeek features information related to the board gaming hobby

older | 1 | .... | 69 | 70 | (Page 71) | 72 | 73 | .... | 183 | newer

    0 0

    by fizzmore

    There is no "hand" in Le Havre...all buildings you buy or build go on the table in front of you.

    When building, you must use an action...going to one of the buildings that allows you to do and paying the needed building resources. When buying a building, no action is necessary...you simply pay the appropriate amount of money either before or after your action and put the building in your tableau.

    0 0

    by bscox3

    Sorry but please explain buy vs build? Why would I buy vs build? Also what counts as food? Cattle,franc, fish?

    Thanks im a newb

    0 0

    by fizzmore

    Well again....buying requires spending money and doesn't take an action. Building requires an action and uses building resources (wood, clay, iron, brick, steel), not money. They've very different requirements, and so which you do will depend on what you have available.

    Food is anything with the food icon (fish, smoked fish, bread, and meat). Francs can also be used as food.

    I'd highly recommend rereading the rules and checking out some of the videos here for getting your head around such core concepts.

    0 0

    by bscox3

    Ahh so i can aquire either way? Buy or build? I did rea the rules duh! Lol thanks for the help!

    0 0

    by Thunkd

    Buying uses money which are victory points... useful if you need a building but doesn't net you any additional VP (it is worth VP's, but you spend VP's to get it). If you build it, you spend resources, get the building, and it's worth VP's.

    0 0

    by Guibs

    2 advantages to buying building. First, their franc value is added to your score at the end of the game. Second, when a building had a cost youse, that cost is paired to the owner of that building.

    Anyone can use the building of others as long as they are not in used (except final turn).

    Anyway, according to the iOs version.

    0 0

    by Guibs

    Thunkd wrote:

    Buying uses money which are victory points... useful if you need a building but doesn't net you any additional VP (it is worth VP's, but you spend VP's to get it). If you build it, you spend resources, get the building, and it's worth VP's.


    You usually buy building with resources, not with money. Most resources are gotten for free when claiming an offer on your turn. I don't get your reference to spending money to buy building.

    0 0

    by louper

    Guibs wrote:

    Thunkd wrote:

    Buying uses money which are victory points... useful if you need a building but doesn't net you any additional VP (it is worth VP's, but you spend VP's to get it). If you build it, you spend resources, get the building, and it's worth VP's.


    You usually buy building with resources, not with money. Most resources are gotten for free when claiming an offer on your turn. I don't get your reference to spending money to buy building.


    No - you BUILD buildings with resources. You BUY buildings with money.

    Guibs wrote:

    2 advantages to buying building. First, their franc value is added to your score at the end of the game.


    Related to my above clarification, this is not an advantage. You have to spend francs to buy a building. Francs and building value are both equivalent VPs at the end of the game. So buying a building (seldom) adds directly to your score at the end of the game.

    0 0

    by Thunkd

    Guibs wrote:

    Thunkd wrote:

    Buying uses money which are victory points... useful if you need a building but doesn't net you any additional VP (it is worth VP's, but you spend VP's to get it). If you build it, you spend resources, get the building, and it's worth VP's.


    You usually buy building with resources, not with money. Most resources are gotten for free when claiming an offer on your turn. I don't get your reference to spending money to buy building.
    umm.. The very first post in the thread? Where the OP was asking about the difference between buying and building? You don't "buy" with resources. You buy with francs or build with resources.

    0 0

    by Guibs

    Ah my mistake.

    0 0

    by bscox3

    So if i buy or build i still put it in front of me. Then if its still in front of no regardless if i bought or built it i cash it in for points?

    Thanks all

    0 0

    by bscox3

    I just cannot grasp this and I am so sorry.

    Its my turn:

    I have 1 Franc so I can "buy a building"

    1) i move my worker to a free construction location that is empty
    2) I choose a building from the 3 face cards that I have resources to "build"
    3) i place the choice in front of me for the rest of the game unless I sell it?

    I then can use these for free and charge others to use? tThe at the game I count all building I built or bought as VP based on the coin value?

    Thanks for wealking me through this

    0 0

    by mister allen

    You've got it!

    You can only "buy a building" if you have the full amount, so having 1 franc generally doesn't net you a building.

    Also, buying a building is a free action, so you still get to place your worker or accept an offer.

    0 0

    by bscox3

    Ahhh so I could be on marketplace. "BUY" a building, obtain it, move my worker and activate its skill?


    0 0

    by louper

    bscox3 wrote:

    I have 1 Franc so I can "buy a building"

    1) i move my worker to a free construction location that is empty
    2) I choose a building from the 3 face cards that I have resources to "build"
    3) i place the choice in front of me for the rest of the game unless I sell it?



    This is all correct except that you're BUILDING a building, not BUYING a building. BUILDING is done with resources (and moving your worker to a construction location). BUYING is done by spending francs, does not count as your action for the turn, and does not require you to move your worker. So you've got the overall gist of it, but not the correct word.

    bscox3 wrote:

    Then at the [end of the] game I count all building I built or bought as VP based on the coin value?


    Yes, and don't forget to add on any francs that you still have to your VP total.

    bscox3 wrote:

    Ahhh so I could be on marketplace. "BUY" a building, obtain it, move my worker and activate its skill?


    Yes - that's one of the advantages of BUYING a building - it doesn't use your turn's action, so you can buy a building and then use it immediately. When BUILDING a building, that DOES use your turn, so generally it means other players will be able to use it before you.

    0 0

    by bscox3

    Thank god I am finally playing correctly!

    LOl

    Thanks all!


    0 0

    by bscox3

    We played the short 3 player last night and went thru 5 rounds or so and nobody had any loans. It seemed easy to keep feeding

    Is this normal? or maybe Im doing something wrong?

    Also after every round say i am player one. i go to the 7th space. i do my full turn. Now my 2 apponents get 1 additional turn but just can build or buy? So they could collect resorces or move their worker and activate needs. Then you pay up fr the round?


    0 0

    by Bascaria

    Loans are not particularly hard to avoid if they are all you're concerned with. What can be hard is avoiding loans while also pursuing another strategy. The thing about loans, though, is that they are not always bad to take and can instead be used as a quick cash infusion to power a strong turn if used and timed correctly.

    And no, it looks like you're playing the round end incorrectly. One round is 7 turns. At the end of that 7th turn, everybody feeds their workers, regardless of who took the seventh turn. This means that, in a 3-player game, for every 3 rounds, you will have two rounds where you get only 2 turns and 1 round where you get 3 turns.

    The only time you get a turn without moving your ship is at the very end of the game, when everybody gets 1 final action that has it's own special rules for how it works (you can use any building, regardless of if it is occupied or not).

    One final note about buying/selling buildings with francs (instead of building them with resources and a building action) is that when a building is bought or sold, the worker who was on it is returned to his owner. This means that if there is a building you want to use, but it is occupied and you own the building, or the town owns the building and you can afford it, then you can sell or buy it, respectively, to open up that action spot so you can use it.

    0 0

    by bscox3

    Great! So as soon as someone hits the last circle they complete the turn, and then we all feed our workers then return ships to the start and the new 1st player starts as normal.

    Then we all take a last turn in the last round once the first person hits the final spot


    0 0

    by Bascaria

    So close!

    You don't return your ships to the start all at once. Instead, you move them one at a time at the start of each person's turn the next open space. The difference is largely trivial, but it does ensure that you keep the correct turn order.

    So if you took turn #7, then after feeding, whoever is last in line (on spot #5 in a 3-player game) will move their ship to spot #1, fill the relevant offers, and take their turn. Then whoever is on spot #6 will move their ship to #2, fill the offers, and take their turn. Then you move to spot #3, fill the offers, and take your turn.

older | 1 | .... | 69 | 70 | (Page 71) | 72 | 73 | .... | 183 | newer