Are you the publisher? Claim or contact us about this channel


Embed this content in your HTML

Search

Report adult content:

click to rate:

Account: (login)

More Channels


Showcase


Channel Catalog


Channel Description:

BoardGameGeek features information related to the board gaming hobby

older | 1 | .... | 106 | 107 | (Page 108) | 109 | 110 | .... | 184 | newer

    0 0
    0 0

    by anovoa

    Are there any variants in this game where you pre-determine the special buildings?

    Also, i have been playing the two-player version and it's a bit depressing to just flip 4 special buildings in the entire game. in variants to add more buildings? maybe adding 2 special buildings instead of just 1 each time the town builds one? has anyone done this?

    0 0

    by grant5

    anovoa wrote:

    Are there any variants in this game where you pre-determine the special buildings?

    Also, i have been playing the two-player version and it's a bit depressing to just flip 4 special buildings in the entire game. are there any variants to add more buildings? maybe adding 2 special buildings instead of just 1 each time the town builds one? has anyone done this?

    The variant forum has a number of threads about this. Like five posts down from yours is this one, which is probably the best:
    More Special Buildings

    0 0

    by anovoa

    thanks!

    0 0
  • 04/10/15--06:29: New Image for Le Havre
  • by anovoa

    <div>Le Havre playtime.</div>

    0 0
  • 04/10/15--06:54: New Image for Le Havre
  • by anovoa

    <div>Le Havre playtime!</div>

    0 0

    by TheImp17

    Super helpful! +1

    0 0

    by TheImp17

    Playing my first ever game of Le Havre. The town built the Marketplace, and I would like to use it.

    So I pay 1 Franc. i have the Fishery, Bakehouse and Smokehouse for buildings. Can I take 5 goods? That seems like a lot. Also, do the goods come from supply or offer?

    Thanks.

    0 0

    by meepleraptor

    I believe the answer is yes: the Market combos nicely with the "house" cards

    The goods come from the supply, not the offer

    0 0

    by TheImp17

    So I guess my question then is: If I am getting 5 resources per franc, why would I take any offers from not until they have at least 6 goods?

    0 0

    by mister allen

    You can only take one of each resource using the market. Sometimes it's better to take the two clay offering rather than take three turns getting the clay and other resources from the market.

    0 0

    by TheImp17

    Ah, there it is. That makes a lot of sense.

    This definitely helps get me through actions where I really need that steel but don't want to waste a turn getting one resource. Awesome!

    0 0

    by Tubarush

    mister allen wrote:

    You can only take one of each resource using the market. Sometimes it's better to take the two clay offering rather than take three turns getting the clay and other resources from the market.



    To expand on this - and make sure you're not missing a rule - you normally cannot use the Marketplace twice-in-a-row. You cannot claim a building unless it is empty (even if it is your marker that's on the building.) That's why Mister Allen mentions 3 turns:

    Turn 1 - Claim Marketplace
    Turn 2 - Claim something else to move your marker off the Marketplace
    Turn 3 - Claim Marketplace (if it hasn't been already claimed since you moved your marker off of it)


    The one way around this 3-turn sequence would be to:

    Turn 1 - Claim Marketplace
    Turn 2 - Buy the Marketplace (which removes your marker) and then claim it.

    0 0

    by TheImp17

    mjacobsca wrote:

    With fewer players you get more turns per harvest. So the food requirements are higher for less players.


    Yea, you've got it.

    I am new too, but from looking at the cards, in round 3 a 5 player game will require everyone to have 3 food, so a ship giving you one food is 33% of the total.

    In round 3 of a solo game, you require 15 food, and the ship gives 5 so 33%v again. Looks like the machanic scales so ships have a standard usefulness.

    Also one thing I didn't pick up on for a couple rounds is that you sell your goods at the Shipping Line building, and the ships helps add additional opportunities to sell goods.


    0 0

    by TheImp17

    Tubarush wrote:

    mister allen wrote:

    You can only take one of each resource using the market. Sometimes it's better to take the two clay offering rather than take three turns getting the clay and other resources from the market.



    To expand on this - and make sure you're not missing a rule - you normally cannot use the Marketplace twice-in-a-row. You cannot claim a building unless it is empty (even if it is your marker that's on the building.) That's why Mister Allen mentions 3 turns:

    Turn 1 - Claim Marketplace
    Turn 2 - Claim something else to move your marker off the Marketplace
    Turn 3 - Claim Marketplace (if it hasn't been already claimed since you moved your marker off of it)


    The one way around this 3-turn sequence would be to:

    Turn 1 - Claim Marketplace
    Turn 2 - Buy the Marketplace (which removes your marker) and then claim it.


    Oooh. That's important. I was taking my marker off the building after each turn. I hadn't tried to use the same building twice yet, but I am sure I would have tried to later in the game if you hadn't mentioned it.

    0 0

    by Tubarush

    TheImp17 wrote:

    Tubarush wrote:

    mister allen wrote:

    You can only take one of each resource using the market. Sometimes it's better to take the two clay offering rather than take three turns getting the clay and other resources from the market.



    To expand on this - and make sure you're not missing a rule - you normally cannot use the Marketplace twice-in-a-row. You cannot claim a building unless it is empty (even if it is your marker that's on the building.) That's why Mister Allen mentions 3 turns:

    Turn 1 - Claim Marketplace
    Turn 2 - Claim something else to move your marker off the Marketplace
    Turn 3 - Claim Marketplace (if it hasn't been already claimed since you moved your marker off of it)


    The one way around this 3-turn sequence would be to:

    Turn 1 - Claim Marketplace
    Turn 2 - Buy the Marketplace (which removes your marker) and then claim it.


    Oooh. That's important. I was taking my marker off the building after each turn. I hadn't tried to use the same building twice yet, but I am sure I would have tried to later in the game if you hadn't mentioned it.


    And one addition:

    Taking an offer does not remove your marker either. (This becomes a great way to block others --- claim a building and then take offers for several turns.)

    0 0

    by TheImp17

    Tubarush wrote:

    TheImp17 wrote:

    Tubarush wrote:

    mister allen wrote:

    You can only take one of each resource using the market. Sometimes it's better to take the two clay offering rather than take three turns getting the clay and other resources from the market.



    To expand on this - and make sure you're not missing a rule - you normally cannot use the Marketplace twice-in-a-row. You cannot claim a building unless it is empty (even if it is your marker that's on the building.) That's why Mister Allen mentions 3 turns:

    Turn 1 - Claim Marketplace
    Turn 2 - Claim something else to move your marker off the Marketplace
    Turn 3 - Claim Marketplace (if it hasn't been already claimed since you moved your marker off of it)


    The one way around this 3-turn sequence would be to:

    Turn 1 - Claim Marketplace
    Turn 2 - Buy the Marketplace (which removes your marker) and then claim it.


    Oooh. That's important. I was taking my marker off the building after each turn. I hadn't tried to use the same building twice yet, but I am sure I would have tried to later in the game if you hadn't mentioned it.


    And one addition:

    Taking an offer does not remove your marker either. (This becomes a great way to block others --- claim a building and then take offers for several turns.)


    So when I eventually play multiplayer, wouldn't everyone's strategy for the last round be to block the Shipping Line? Then only one person will be able to ship off their excess.

    0 0

    by Harald

    All players can use shipping line during their final action (except the one who used it during his last normal action).

    0 0

    by Raujour

    Harald wrote:

    All players can use shipping line during their final action (except the one who used it during his last normal action).


    Is this true also?
    I thought there was no limitation on the last choice. Two shipping actions were possible...

    0 0

    by TwentySides

    Everyone takes their piece back for their final action and can use any building, including the last building they used. Where does it say they can't? I don't have the rules in front of me and I can't find a PDF.

older | 1 | .... | 106 | 107 | (Page 108) | 109 | 110 | .... | 184 | newer